Breath control / cord closure

Rate this topic

Erkki

Hello!

I've sang for a long time more and less actively (I'm an amateur singer), and I'm pretty satisfied with my chest voice. However, I used to become tired after singing, because I "pushed" my voice on higher notes. I did some googling, and found out, that I hadn't used my head voice at all (although the names of the registers were familiar, I didn't really know what they meant). Now I've done some practising, and I can access my head voice by "jumping" to it quite easily. I still find it difficult to switch to head voice when doing arpeggios.

Here's my problem: I can sing on my mid-low chest voice or high head voice with good tone, but in my bridge area my tone gets breathy. That includes the higher part of my chest voice and lower part of my head voice. It may be caused by lacking breath support or cord closure, but I don't know which. The question is, how should I practise? I've considered getting a vocal coach, but it's difficult to find one where I live.

Thank you for any advice!

Thanks for your reply! I know it would be best to find a teacher, and I'm trying to do so. I also got a flu a bit after writing that message, that probably also affected my singing although there were no symptoms yet.

Singing is fine muscle coordination while an unimpeded breath is applied.

If you want to fix your breath, sing the word "me" in your low notes with a completely relaxed voice, which includes relaxing your mouth,throat, and chest. You should feel an open sensation in breathing, which can then be applied to the rest of your voice.

The hard part is training your muscles. Head voice allows you to hit notes but lacks power, while chest voice adds power to your tone but doesn't allow your range to expand. Too much chest and your cords will crack open, and too much head voice and your voice will sound weak but you will be able to hit notes.