First recording - Hallelujah

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hey guys, I finally got myself a decent mic (Rode M1), and quickly recorded something to try it out. Now I'm a complete noob at recording so I tried to make the sound as pleasing to the ears as possible considering my limited knowledge. This was a 3rd take, didn't bother ironing it out, mostly because I don't know how. :D Criticism is desired and welcome!

http://yourlisten.com/channel/content/16927620/Hallelujah

I think you have a nice sounding voice and you sing well. Nice job. What I didn't care for was your interpretation. I thought you over dramatized it a little :) I mean you just made some parts too dramatic and got a little overboard with extending notes and modulating them etc. Also the "Hallelujah's." If there were three or four hallelujah's in a phrase you would say them with different "a" sounds. For example one would be Haaleluja with the "a" sound of "hat" and the next would be Hahllelujah with the "a" sound of "hardly."

Overall very nice though. You sing well. :)

I finally listened to see what the comments were about. I've lost count of the number of people that come in to cover the song and kind of got burned out on it. But it's still a good song.

On the upside, you have a really flexible voice. Always keep that flexibility and keep doing the funny voices. I do. I just don't record them. Of course, now, I'm waiting for Tommy to come in and say, "you mean, you weren't singing in a funny voice? Man, if I only knew .... " :lol:

I think what it is people sometimes have certain expectations for a song. They may not expect you to sound like Jeff Buckley, but they expect a similar intrepration. Where as your range all over the map. But it does show your nimble and fluid ability and awesome sustain. I could time a roasted chicken by that one note. :)