Don't give up

Rate this topic

jzhang172

I've been singing for about 4 months now and there were ALOT of times that I thought I should just stick to dancing/rapping.

But that mindset made me bitter and angry and I began making excuses for myself.

If there's one thing I know, I can do anything. For me, it felt that everyone else was enjoying singing while I was suffering so much because I would spend so much doing it, doing exercises but still be not that good. I remember hearing my roommate sing and although he wasn't good, he wasn't bad either. He never practices. Why couldn't I sing every time like that?

But then I found out that you have to love to get better. Hating over and over again, not even for singing, but for everything in general will just create a cycle of repeated failure that will make you bitter. Always strive to get better and don't look at it as a defeat. Keep things that are warm to you. If you're feeling bad and can't find the energy to continue, take a break, find something that makes you feel good and continue. Don't give up.

I guess my overall message is not to don't give up, but find love through it all. Your love for singing will always be there, but your hate will block progress, so it's better to find everything that supports you or makes you feel good and then continuing from there.

It's easy to get caught in a complexity that should be so simple.

Learning good technique is very hard, but there are good reasons for it. There are a lot of singers that do not sound consistent, botch everything live and generally have to get caught walking ass backwards into a great recording. If you know the vocaL anatomy, all of their functions and how they contribute to the sound, you will never get stuck in this spot. Trust me, you could be doing absolutely everything perfectly but messing up one little thing. Once all the problems are resolved and you have tried every tone, technique and style and mastered them all, you will be invincible.