Finding Freedom in Upper Register

Rate this topic

Hey all, I have been doing my descending oo, ee, slides/sirens in head voice notes, usually I am more successful in bridging on vowels like "eh" or "a" (as in cat). Voice is still awkwardly breaking much of the time, usually at the beginning of practicing I can achieve a smooth blend but towards the middle/end the voice begins "flipping" again. Also it feels difficult to sustain notes over 10seconds in the upper register, however I can hold much longer in the lower-mid notes.

Can anyone suggest some things to do to have freedom, strength, and blend in the upper register? (Please don't say "get a coach" lol)

Thanks in advance.

- JayMC

For me, what seems to be working (except help from my coach xD) is to basically just make sure my basics or working, then aiming for consistency and comfort.

I'm a beginner myself, so I do not have any insider info to share. But for me I find progress by singing, doing the basic exercises most people already know about WHILE making sure I do not loose my foundation. This is harder than it sounds but at the same time quite easy since all you have to do is put in focused time to see progress.

Good luck!

Jay most likely if you have been practicing lots of headvoice slides your cords are used to being slightly more apart than in chest. My advice would be to practice like you sing. I had the same problem years ago i was so convinced that by practicing headvoice high it would get stronger and stronger and i totally neglected my chest/fullvoice and I ended up struggling. You need to work out your voice like you sing in other words you wouldnt flip or sing in a pure headvoice. So don't practice like that.

owen, there are a lot more benefits to those descending head voice slides than just building a stronger head voice.