Thyroid tilt?

Rate this topic

Paramour

Hi, so this is my first real post, and I just wanted to say thank you to Robert and you guys for making this forum happen, as it really is great. So, here's the deal, I started seriously singing about a week ago, I know, total newb, and I have run across a problem. I am not sure how to tilt my Thyroid Cartilage. The book I bought, Singing and the Actor by Gillyanne Kayes, says to whimper like a dog, cry, etc, but my larynx doesn't seem to tilt downward, more rises, or moves forward, while tensing my digastric muscle. So, I was wondering if anyone has any tips as to how to achieve this/what it should feel like or do, and I know alot of the posts on this forum are alot less basic than this, but I couldn't find one that specifically addressed how to tilt the Thyroid, so yeah:D

Any help would be great, thanks guys!

Paramour

The sounds you mentioned are ment to encourage thyroid tilt but they won't necessarily work for you.

I suggest you take a skype lesson with Tony O'hora as he works with this exact method, what has worked for me in starting to learn proper tilting is using a NG siren (say sing and hold the ng). The thing is you have to do it right and it's quite specific so there is a big chance you'll do it wrong if it's not shown to you. Anyway this exercise definitely works for this but it may take a ton of practise.

'Singing and the Actor' is based on the Estill voice training system. You can find a good Estill teacher here: http://www.estillvoice.com/instructors/search

I haven't heard you sing, but if you've only been singing for one week, the thyroid tilt may not be what you need right now. I would say you are better off working your lower range (below your first bridge). I believe that when your lower range is good, your higher range becomes much easier.

Get the basics down. The 'silent laugh' / 'open throat' as described in the book is very important.

Nick