How long until serious?

Rate this topic

jco5055

Hey guys, about a month or so ago I started to notice a little hoarseness to my voice in the mid to upper range (around the passagio). I initially thought I had strained my voice, but then decided that it was probably from the slight cold I had (this is the first winter since I've started training seriously, so I have no past experience with how my training is effected with colds or illness). I still think it was from the illness, so after a few days rest I decided to lightly practice again, accepting the lower notes, earlier passagio etc so as not to strain my voice.

Somehow, I think it was a combination of my cold/illness going/settling in my voice (probably from the tiredness etc of vocal training) with a combination of having to speak louder in bar settings etc, I blew out my voice or got laryngitis. The day after going out and this occuring, I could hardly speak at all. Each day, my voice got a little bit stronger, with myself constantly drinking water, swallowing spoonfuls of honey, and trying to speak as little as possible to help.

It has now been slightly over a week (happened on a Sunday morning/Saturday night, it is Tuesday afternoon at this writing) and my voice is 80-90% back, except for some hoarseness in the passagio/bridging area. I have not sung or trained other than to lightly test out my voice, and to do some hums and lip rolls to help strengthen my voice. I hope to have my voice back by next Monday, and regardless that would be the earliest I start singing/training again.