What to look for in a teacher?

Rate this topic

ronws

Another thread was derailed for a while with a discussion on what makes for a good teacher of singing. Can that apply to teaching in general?

I am not a teacher of singing. I'm not a singing expert in any fashion. And I learn stuff from guys young enough to be my son.

But I can comment on teaching from my perspective (outside of singing) if you will bear with me.

My career has been that of an electrician. I have been to college a few times majoring in EE but never graduated with a degree. In reality, I have studied electricity and electronics since 1975, thanks to the prodding of my step-grandfather, who also said "sing from the diaphragm." Everyone in our family sang, whether we were good, or not. My step-grandfather was good and sang bass and baritone stuff in church. As I have mentioned elsewhere, I remember him wandering around the house rehearsing "Sunrise, Sunset" from "Fiddler on the Roof." And then, we would stay up and watch "Jesus Christ, Superstar." So, as you can see, it's all his fault.

Anyway, I have taught electrical work to others. Informally, as it were, on the job, while we were completing a task. And not just how to bend pipe but how to do power calcuations for a dry-type 3-phase transformer changing 480 V 3 phase to 208 V 3 phase. How to use the NEC book to calculate load for a room, if necessary. (Commercial spaces are 180 VA per square foot. Houses are 3 VA per square foot. Unless it is a space that is not zoned, in which case, refer to the 180 VA.) And the mathematical approach to why one uses the square root of 3 (1.732) in 3 phase power calculations. Both my original approach of spherical trigonometry. And then that of Pythagoras Theorem, as highlighted to me by a co-worker who was from the Ukraine and learned it that way.) His was simpler, more straight-forward.