Your Song - Elton John, sort sample. How's my pitch and tone

Rate this topic

So I've been trying to track my progress with my voice...here's my latest recording

I've always had issues with pitch, how have I progressed in terms of staying on pitch

Edit:

Okay Here's my final attempt at this song

https://soundcloud.com/user893437388/your-song-last-attempt

How's the pitch on it

Well... It seems still unpitched. I think you should improve your breath support before you try sing on pitch. I think your throat is not that open too, your voice sounds a little strained though. Anyway, singing is not really my business, but as a musician I think you should study a bit more of music perception.

Greats

"Your song" is a pretty hard song to do for those learning to sing. It's lower in the range almost too low for most. It is too close to speaking. Most people tend to go too high on the parts that get a little more intense.

Because there are times when you are on pitch I can tell that you know when you are off pitch.

If you have a piano or guitar one way of working on pitch is striking a note on the instrument and matching the pitch with your voice.

MDEW has a point. The original is pitched lower than your voice. And rather than you forcing your voice to go lower, find the key you can work in.

Your pitch is all over the place, throughout the whole song, so, I can't just pick one word in the lyrics. So, go through the song without lyrics and just do la-la but concentrate on matching pitch. And when you sing the lyrics, don't pronounce them the way that you speak. Also, listen to how Reginald sings it. He is modifying, to the point that he sounds "country" when he sings it. "Inside' sounds more like "in-sahd." And proably what is causing your pitch problems is actually support. Let the tension be in your abs, not in your tone generator (throat.) You cannot and should not sing the way that you speak.