Raising the soft palate

Rate this topic

Blameitonthevodka

Well, the way I learned about raising the soft palate was using a slight smile. The muscles that move when you smile also "raise" or retrac the soft palate, not necessarily from dropping the jaw. I could be wrong but it sounds like you fighting yourself with contradictory motions.

I am not an expert. Not even a pro.

I'd like to refine ronws' point. When going for that smile, pay extra attention to lifting up your cheek muscles and not just smiling by stretching your mouth to the sides.

I have watched Ronnie James Dio in the studio and he would do something similar, though he claimed to have never had lessons. He did what I carte blanche named the Lilli Lift (I, ronws, named it after Lilli Lehmann, who also talked of this method of raising the soft palate.

More than listening, please watch what Ronnie does during his bit to even out the levels of his monitoring in the studio.

So basicly its magical, it makes it easier and it makes you sound better.

Magic does not exist. You probably will just run into more problems by searching for it. Answer first WHY do you need it, until you know it exactly, considering your voice alone and what you are doing with it right now, it will be useless.

Orientation.

If you insist on lifting the soft palate, cool, pick a straw, a glass of water, drink it through the straw, there, velar port is closed.

GL

But it is magical.

Yawning can happen whether the jaw is dropped or not. But I would work on one thing at a time.

Work on the yawn or smile, worry about the jaw, later.

Just an idea.

Magic does not exist. You probably will just run into more problems by searching for it. Answer first WHY do you need it, until you know it exactly, considering your voice alone and what you are doing with it right now, it will be useless.

Orientation.

Hey Blameitonthevodka, Don't let this guy discourage you. He's Mr. Negativity personified. Yuck.