Need help with throat tension please

Rate this topic

Saijinkai

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and I hope you can help and I can contribute in the future when I'm a better singer.

So I have been Singing for 2 years and I make my own songs. I've always had problems with tension in my throat (the spot where I swallow) whenever I sing.

I'm originally a baritone who started out singing up to the High E, but now I'm able to hit a high G and push to an A#

during my vocal warm ups / lessons.

But even now, I have trouble with tension when I sing and I'm afraid that I can't sing enough songs for a concert without choking, since that's how I feel when I feel tense.

=========

Currently I try to press "down" on my stomach when I sing very high, relax and lower my jaw and put my vocals between my upper lip and nose.

But I notice that it's impossible for me to sing even lower notes like the high C, D and E when I'm upset or worried about something...

And because of this tension I feel like I have a hard time inhaling air for the next verse.

=========

If anyone can help, it'd be appreciated, specially since I have to perform in 2 weeks.

I think he mentioned high G, pushed to A#.. which in my guess would come right around the passagio, and not an octave higher :)

Saijinkai - There are a number of threads that cover this topic. If you are referring to the notes G4 and A#4, please run a search on this forum for exercises on strengthening the passagio area. Also, look into the programs offered by Robert, Ken Tamplin, Daniel Formica .. They are all super.. and don't worry, this is a problem almost every one of us has to deal with while singing :)

Cheers

Thanks for the replies!!! I'm glad I'm not the only one with this problem... I honestly thought that it's just me and very few others.

1. What is classic chest pulling?