How good is she really?

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi,

recently I've been working with a 17-year old vocalist. I personally think she's pretty good, but I'm no expert. Here's a sample of one of my songs that she sang for me. How would you rate her performance?

Many thanks in advance.

All the best

Robert

http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=12087150

What kind of rating do you want? she sounds good - style fits music - key/pitch accurate - control is good.. how much is natural or produced, don't know.. but overall - good job.

Music was okay.. pretty generic - well done though, and she owned it...

Cheers,

David.

Hi David,

she sings all the lead and background vocals. Her voice here is 100% natural.The producer insisted on not using Melodyne. I analyized the vocal tracks with Melodyne and noticed the she was very much on target anyway. I saw her perform live and she hits each and every note to perfection - just like you can hear on this track. No matter what genre she sings, she owns it.

What I'd really like to know is, do you think that she's so good that we should do more serious work with her? Do you see potential that she could make it big time? Does her voice have something that sounds unique, any kind of recognition value? Like I said, I'm not an expert when it comes to vocals. I appreciate any kind of feedback you can give me. Many thanks in advance.

All the best

Robert

Listening to the music again, I actually dig the sound of it now... some reason the bass wasn't emphasized first time I listened to.... still follows a typical feel of that genre of music, which is good and commercial..

She has a great voice (especially with the additional details you provided on your 2nd post).

To answer your queries :

1. I can not see any reason why you shouldn't be doing more work with her..