Vocal fatigue and how to deal with it.

Rate this topic

Jbrink07

Hey everyone,

I'm pretty worried that I messed my voice up. I was trying to extend my range a few nights back, and I think I was using pretty bad form. I was singing a note that might have been to high for me at the top of my lungs over and over again.. It was stupid and ill never make that mistake again, but I have had vocal fatigue for the past few days where it almost gets tiring to talk. There is very minimal pain when I talk, and there is no hoarseness, so I am wondering if it will just go away in a week or so with rest? Who else has dealt with this, and what did you do? I'm worried that I won't be able to give my vocal cords the rest they need because I am a salesman and need to talk every day. Will my vocal cords be able to rest if I am talking and not singing at all? Thanks a lot

- Ingo Titze's straw exercise

- Water

- Light humming

- Lip bubbles/trills

- PLENTY of rest

MAYBE some lozenges, get that anesthetic in your system. Numb the pain.

I'm getting less and less fatigue the more I sing, day in, day out. Maybe it's my vocal technique getting better.

Ever since I read Alan greene's book I've felt less tension in my tongue and digastric muscle.

Hey everyone,