No head voice sensation

Rate this topic

Willise

I've been practicing for a few months now, and I just cannot seem to get the head voice down. I always go from chest right to falsetto. My teacher, all the videos, comments on this forum, etc talk about the resonant feeling in the head, across the nose area when in head voice. I don't feel that at all - ever! LOL

I have been practicing the sirens, NAY, MUM, GOOG, twang, lift up-pull back - but I cannot seem to get that feeling. I go to a D4-E4 in chest, then flip right into a breathy F4. I can play virtually any instrument that I pick up, but this has been so frustrating! LOL

I have never even been able to yell "WOO HOO" without it sounding windy. Are there any tricks to getting this head voice feeling? I know the voice is actually resonating in the throat, so maybe I am misunderstanding the whole head voice sensation that I keep reading about.

Thanks!

will, any time you go from a chest voice production into (i'm assuming) a breathy falsetto you have a disconnection.

you aren't holding on.......basically the vocal folds aren't doing two things .....staying sufficiently closed and stretching for the pitch. no adducted folds, little to no sound.

there is no trick..no magic wand.....and there many reasons or a combination of reasons why this could be is happening.

without hearing you, it's hard to suggest.

Your "chest voice" has nothing solid to bridge into. Imagine you are running 100m and after the first 50m the track has a bunch of holes in it. It would be very difficult to finish the race.

What is helping me is the concept that the voice is carved with a LASER not a hammer. You physically can't take the heavyness and power of your speaking voice up UNTIL you have that other half of the track completely dependable and solid. Meaning until your falsetto is strong and dependable enough for you to rely on then you will have trouble bridging & connecting.