Specific Exercises

Rate this topic

jzhang172

Hi there!!!!!

I've been doing a lot of vocal training recently and I've gotten pretty good mentality wise.

I noticed that when I sing, if I get really into this song, that is when I'm at my best. My vocal technique is not where I want it to be(there is always room for improvement) but it's better than when I just "sing" and not feel the song.

I am still a beginner but I narrowed down the things I believe I need to work on.

Freedom when singing - This is pretty easy once I get my voice in the right area even though I might not be able to hit exactly on pitch.

Getting voice into the proper head place not stuck in throat, I believe this is having enough power to get into the head voice?

Pitch.

What exercises can I do that target these specific things?

Thanks! I'll eat any advice you guys can give me

Hi Jzhang172,

Great to hear you're doing lots of training!

The things you've narrowed down to all have the underlying issue of airflow. I will explain in more detail:

For the voice to be free it has to rely on a good and steady stream of air, if this stream of air changes then other parts of the vocal apparatus have to get involved (that shouldn't) to compensate for the lack of a steady stream of airflow. This is then what throws us off pitch.

Exercise: Lie on the floor in semi-supine position and put on a relaxing song of about 3 mins and just gently start to breathe deeply allowing the belly raise up to the ceiling and then slowly releasing the air and then that moment of nothing before you take the breath in again. Monitor you breathing, is it a steady stream of air? Do the same thing standing up. Then link this to a very simple 3 note scale on Ahhhh just concentrate on connecting the breath to the voice.

The 2nd part you describe is head voice and getting stuck in the throat.

This comes down to allowing the voice to go through these transitions (passaggio's).

|--------------Chest Voice ----------------|