How do you find the tone that is best suited for you?

Rate this topic

pj

Hello folks I've been lurking around the forums (again) and I noticed threads discussing different singers' sounds and techniques. What I'm interested is that as a vocalist, how did you find the tone that best suits you?

I'm a beginner myself and I have my good and bad days. Some days whereby I felt that I sounded "okay" or "good" (at least to me personally), and on other days I can be totally off (not pitch-wise, but tone-wise). I understand that doing exercises can help to "strengthen" the voice and develop a better tone but did any of you spent a considerable amount of time dedicated to simply experimenting around with different techniques to develop the tone that is best suited for you? If so what areas did you look out for?

If not then did your "ideal" tone come naturally to you through exercises and etc.?

Would appreciate any feedback. :D

As many people as there are, there are as many different ideas of "perfect tone."

I am sure my tone is not perfect. Especially by some definitions.

But I experiment all the time.Funny voices, usually through changing resonance strategies. It keeps me awake on the long drive to work.

:lol:

if you listen to a variety of singers, you may very well start to develop a sense of your innate capability to emulate a given singer(s).

and you begin to say to yourself "you know what, i think i can sing this or sound like this."

when i first listened to lou gramm sing, i knew mentally i could sing like that, i felt i had a similar texture but i lacked the strength and development to sing many of those songs. i had to work up to them...hard work...lol!!!

they went from hard to sing, to less hard to sing....lol!!!