At my wits end with learning to sing. HELP.

Rate this topic

hypnotoadmk

Hey guys,

I'm a music student at university, been playing the piano pretty much my whole life, started playing guitar a while back. I've been playing guitar and bass in gigging bands for about 3 years now and I'm also in the third year of a music degree.

About 5 years ago I started trying to learn to sing, albeit a total bedroom attempt ie just trying to sing over me playing guitar/keys and listening back to it. About 2 years ago when I started my music degree I really put my back in to it, got a singing teacher who was highly reccomended to me by many of my tutors and classmates. I had lessons with her for about a year before it became a bit too much of a financial strain. I still go back for occasional lessons however, and still work on my singing every day.

Since then many aspects of my singing seem to have improved greatly. I can very comfortably do basic backing vocals (unisons), my diction has improved ten fold, my break point has gone from a B all the way up to an F and breathing from the diaphragm is now feeling natural. I've recently been working on vowel shapes a lot although I still consider this to be a big weakness.

But anyway, that thing thats really driving me up the wall is that I still don't sound good singing solo, down the fact my pitching is still naff. The strangest bit about this being that I have semi-perfect pitch (can instantly recognize 3 or 4 notes, always close with the others). I have absolutely NO problem knowing when I'm flat or sharp and identifying which one, but I still can't seem to get to the notes. Without sounding too cockey, I'd say my ears are one my strongest points as a musician (identifying intervals, transcribing, playing stuff quickly by ear), which just baffles me even more as to why my pitching when singing is soooo inaccurate.