Aloe Vera Water

Rate this topic

TerrylLee

Hello. I'm new to the TMV community, and so far I've learned a lot. Thank you all:).. I have a question. Does anyone have any experience with Aloe Vera water? I heard it was good for keeping the vocal cords from drying out during performances.

Hi TerrylLee, welcome aboard!

To my knowledge aloe has no lasting effect on the throat, and if used enough to behave as a laxative, it could even dehydrate the body. Glycerin-based lozenges & sprays have a fleeting effect; throat-coat tea might actually have some good chemistry for the pharynx. But keep in mind that ANYTHING you drink "goes down the other pipe" and bypasses your voice box.

Best for hydrating the cords themselves: sip plain water throughout the day, keep a humid (but mold-free) environment at home & dressing room; stay away from cig. smoke; and get help for any chronic nasal congestion so that you can inhale through the nose (somewhat/some of the time) while singing.

My book has a section on herbs for the voice, with as much formal evidence as I could find (as opposed to rumor & folklore).

happy singing -

Okay thank you for that information. I bought the Aloe Very water, but never drank it because I wasn't sure if i'd like the results. I do drink plain water, occasionally throat coat, and most of the time Lemon Tea, and Honey. That usually does the trick. Though I do suffer from nasal congestion which is very annoying. For the congestion I try to stay away from dairy products at least 3 days before a performance, rehearsal, or studio session. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

Thank you again

• Administrator

TerrylLee,