Question for CVTr's - is this Overdrive?

Rate this topic

gno

Geran - thanks for the reply. The vowel really sounds like "eh" to me. It is only a C#5 - one half step above the safe Overdrive limit. Plus he's got that classic overdrive "bite" just like in the book:

To me it doesn't sound like a high curbing vowel of "i" or "uh"

I guess it could be edge? because of the "eh" and he is definitely belting it.

I put it through a spectrum analyzer and there is a giant amplification of the second harmonic on the C#5. So although I'm no expert on the terms I'm pretty certain it's either overdrive or edge.

This guy's definitely a high tenor, you can tell by the power, brightness, and effortless execution of everything. So I think it makes sense he can bring overdrive up a little higher than the average male.

Did anybody else notice part of the audience singing the "woah oh oh oh"s is harmonizing? Sounds super cool. There must have been a good amount of singers in the audience.

geran89, edge on C#5 isn't that ridiculous! It's not easy, but accomplished singers can do it. It's one of the recommended methods for rock singing, to go from overdrive to edge as you approach the high C. I still think it's edge. His faithfulIIII before it is curbing, i agree, but the character totally changes on the note that geno asked about!

This guy's definitely a high tenor, you can tell by the power, brightness, and effortless execution of everything. So I think it makes sense he can bring overdrive up a little higher than the average male.

It may be true that some people can break the overdrive limit (with females the official CVT position is that D5 is the limit for most but some women may achieve Eb5), but this isn't an example of it. It's definitely not overdrive IMO.

I put it through a spectrum analyzer and there is a giant amplification of the second harmonic on the C#5. So although I'm no expert on the terms I'm pretty certain it's either overdrive or edge.