When do you stop taking voice lessons?

Rate this topic

Hanalei

Sorry if this isn't the right place to post this - I wasn't sure. Hopefully this question makes sense. I know what I'm trying to ask in my head but it's tough to explain in words.

I've been taking voice lessons for a couple of months now. I'm wondering how you know when you can take a break from voice lessons? When are you to the point where live performance would help more than more lessons? I know professionals don't take lessons forever. At some point, they're able to stop and go off on tours and such and just take them when they need them or whatever.

I asked my voice teacher about it, but she kind of skirted the question and she basically sounded like I should take them forever. (Obviously that's how she makes a living, but still...) I know I'm no pro, and I've got a lot of progress to make, but I can't take lessons every week for the rest of my life.

Obviously that's something that differs for each person, but is there a certain point when you're good? I've done all of the basics - proper breathing, relaxing muscles, techniques to reach higher and lower notes, posture, getting a more rock sound, etc.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

You will know when. Don't rush it. You may continue for the rest of your life. You may just switch teachers. You may no longer have time since you're performing so much.

I've gone through this as a drummer, taking hiatuses and switching teachers. Both times, I could sense it was time to stop when the teacher/student relationship would kind of die. And your teacher will totally tell you or hint at this. They care about you and know when to tell you it's time to move on.