I don't Know Why I Didn't Come - Norah Jones

• TMV World Legacy Member

I have some breath support issues, but whatever. I'm stuck at home with an injury and am sitting on the couch in a slightly awkward position - not the best way to achieve proper breath support. That issue aside, I would like some critiques. Give it to me straight! :)

I thought that was really nice. You've got a very natural vibrato and there was a hint of a more classical voice behind that. Have you had classical coaching?

On the breath support point - maybe that is an issue if you are aware of it - I'm not really an expert on that but it actually sounded like you just lacked a bit of confidence on the highest notes so went deliberately softer?

Nice cover though.

That's exactly it, Chris. Stick around a while and you will find people with false modesty. They come in, promising the song will be crap and it's fine because they are actually looking for applause but don't want to be as crass as asking all that.

They like the beautiful swan story where they are the great unknown, only to find they are, indeed, the next voice gift from the gods, which actually relates to a feeling of being the center of the universe.

Means they are as full of ego as I am, which is somehow comforting. :)

They just pretend they don't have ego and sometimes, others are foolish enough to buy that.

Sorry, Kendroid, to borrow your thread for this. It's just that you are not the first to come in here, promising that your singing is crap and beyond redemption and it turns out to be fine. So, either there is deception or you really cannot hear yourself, in which case, it's something of a miracle being able to sing a song completely on pitch without hearing yourself. I am doubting the latter.

So, applause, applause, brava.