Where do I start?

Rate this topic

iggs

I hope this is an appropriate place for this.

My grandfather was a concert violist, who had always pressured me to train an instrument, because he said I had perfect pitch and that to not do anything with it was a waste.

I enjoy singing, but I want to learn how to actually sing.

Aside from singing in a church choir for a year, I am a complete beginner. I haven't improved at all in that year and frankly I don't think I'll ever learn/stretch ability in that environment, which really is the whole reason I joined.

So my question is where should someone start to really learn how to sing? I'm fine with self-directed study, but what steps or systems would you recommend?

Thanks for the advice.

Self-directed study is not optimal, unless you want to allow the results to take much much longer, at the one advantage of saving money. It would be be better to get at least a little bit of actual private training along the way.

Through this forum you'll find many great vocal teachers who teach online lessons, meaning you can study with them no matter where you live. This is a very good option as it can be hard to find vocal teachers locally that really know what they are doing. You will also find that some of those teachers also offer home-study vocal programs or vocal books, another good option.

However this forum alone is by far one of the worst ways to learn singing. In conjunction with the other stuff it is an effective assisting resource, but alone, it can make you extremely confused.

In my personal opinion, after learning from all of these approaches, I think regular skype lessons are most effective, books & programs second, this forum third. And of course those also happen to be in order from most to least expensive. You get what you pay for. The more you invest in and apply yourself to, the better results you get in a shorter amount of time, it's basically that simple.