Arabian Opera? ICS Vortex duplication help

Rate this topic

Carpe Mortem

I'm new here so you know... be gentle and all that. I'm also an utter amateur so you know... well, you know.

I've been trying to imitate the style of ICS Vortex, my favorite vocalist, with little success. See older Dimmu Borgir songs, Arcturus, and Lamented Souls for reference. He has this fascinating, beautiful operatic voice that almost sounds middle eastern with all its trills and wobbling.

I can sing Iron Maiden pretty decently. I'm not spot on but I'm a chick so I have learned to accept that even as the baritone I am I'll never sound like a man. So the high notes and the rocking from one timbre to another I can do, but not to the extent and with the frequency that guy does. I just can't wobble from high notes and make it to the low notes with a continuous wobble, even with warm-ups and changing pitch. Kinda hard to explain I guess but maybe someone here knows what I mean.

Does anyone utilize a similar style? Any tips or practice suggestions for a clueless vagrant?

Nice place you got here by the way.

A chick will not be baritone. Maybe an alto, however.

So, low-slung chick singers, eh?

And here's a chick who knows how to cover a song. In her own way, lower than the original.

So, do stuff like that. Be the next cool chick doing neat stuff that no one else does.

Thank you, I am clueless about proper terminology. It doesn't bother me really but I enjoy knowledge.

I can't see any of what that stuff is, its all X's. But I have my own styles I know I'm good with, pretty confident and have had the input of others to the same effect. I really wanna master this new style and I can't seem to. I don't fuckin know why its been kinda driving me crazy. Check out 'The Chaos Path' by Arcturus for the best example of what I mean.