High Baritone covering "Creep"--need advice

Rate this topic

Hi guys; I'm a high baritone (one person deemed me a baritenor). I'm pretty much self-taught and have been working on my tone placement and high note technique. My comfort range is about F2-G4, with further extensions E2-C5, although I can't sing that low or that high as a tessitura--for example, I cannot cover a Bruno Mars song because he stays in the A4-C5 range.

http://vocaroo.com/i/s1oCDg5lemYC

Some have said my high notes sound a bit forced; this may be the case, but I hit this note about 20 times without any real degradation of sound, and I can play with the vibrato. I'm not sure how high it is (G4?). I try to raise my soft palette a bit and push from my stomach. I kind of wanted the almost yelled sound here, but is it healthy?

Any advice? Oh, this was one take. I used dynamic range compression in audacity because I have shit equip and didn't want my highs to clip or lows to be drowned out (this is in my bathroom with my laptop-built in mic). If anyone knows a better system for Ubuntu, I'd be open :rolleyes: but linux isn't very multimedia friendly.

Sounds fine to me. I'm pretty sure your big high notes are healthy. It wavered on the pitch a tad which means it could use a little more tweaking to make the technique even more efficient and stable, but on the whole I think you're on the right track, for that particularly yelly sound.

Great job on the rest of the song too. This is ready for performance. If you haven't already been performing it yet, definitely put it in your set.

Sounds fine to me. I'm pretty sure your big high notes are healthy. It wavered on the pitch a tad which means it could use a little more tweaking to make the technique even more efficient and stable, but on the whole I think you're on the right track, for that particularly yelly sound.