I wanna sing but I've some Pitch problems. LISTEN AND CRITIC MY SINGIN

Rate this topic

Albertone

Hi to everyone =) Im new here and I'm proud to have found this forum.

I'm an italian bass player, I'm 19 and I'm studying double bass in conservatory since 2011.

since a year ago I sung just for fun with my friends but all my attempts gone very bad so I started to avoid singing in public( shame on me everytime a Took a mic in my hands) but I really love sing! and I always do it (in every wrong way is possible). a Month ago I joined a band which in its repetoire there are a lot of songs with choir parts and backing vocals so I MUST sing if I want play with them. For me it's not so hard to do harmonized choir( usually a I can sing a 5th above the lead singer or a 3rd) but it's a memory tool because I remember the sensations that I want to imprint to the piece and I do it, but I never study to do this kind of stuff.

BUT!!!!

I have at least two problems:

1 even if I can sing intervalls, I'm never properly in tune( as you will listen in the file in the link below)

2 I'm very worried because I'm doing progress with my ear training( I can recognize each note of a 4 note chord, intervals and I can recognize C D A and G by ear just by humming them. or just with aural recall if i'm not too busy with my mind.

here is the file that I recorded

http://snd.sc/1hF67zG

A sense of intervals is something I learned to call relative pitch, pitch relative to other pitches. And in your scales, there are times where you are on pitch and then the next half-step throws you off. When you play the double-bass, you are constantly adjusting by means of moving to a different string, even if in the same relative area of the fret board (I play guitar, so I kind of get the picture of what you do with a standing bass, or even bass guitar.)