Overdrive or some voice marking techniques problem..

Rate this topic

madmada

Hello everybody,

First of all, I wanna to say that I'm kinda newbie here on this forum, and kinda newbie in singing too, so if I chose a wrong section, I'm rlly sorry.

So, I got a problem with my voice, I don't know any techniques of singin'. I'm a rapper, a beginner, and from a couple of time I'm trying to reproduce that what Eminem does in his songs. I dunno the exactly name of this technique, but, I guess it's a kind of overdrive or a kind of voice marking technique - I gonna show u some examples:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-B8eG2njNY

Take a quit look on the second verse. I gonna tell u all the moments when he's using that overdrive/voice marking technique. So it gonna like this:

(the second verse)

2:27 on "Tupac"

2:30 on "Nas"

2:33 on "A lot of envy"

2:39 on "bothering me"

2.41 on "Problem"

I hope that You see about what I'm talking about. My problem is that I'm a newbie when talking about singing, cuz Im not a singer, I'm a rapper, and I can't even name it, so I can't even search some help to learn it if I dunno which one of techniques is that.

My second problem is that, originally, I got a rlly high voice, just like Eminem on that song. And I tried already to use that overdrive/voice marking technique and learn it by myself, and I did it, I learnt it, but only on my low vocals. Which means, that when I wanna do that technique, I need to change my voice and use a very low and powerful vocal which is completely destroying my throat, and after 3-4 h recording at studio, I barely can speak.

So I got three questions to You guys:

1. Whats kind of technique is that?

2. Is it possible to use it with high vocals?

3. How can I learn it, without turning my vocals to low or changing my voice - how can I learn it to use it on high vocals? Maybe U know some exercises or stuff?

Thank You very much guys,

Peace!