Support... Closed Cords?

Rate this topic

Who would say that SUPPORT is necessary for closed cords? Even when I use extreme twang.... low larynx.. vowel shades... if I am BLASTING air through folds that are the size of fingernails... then I'm doing it wrong.

What are your favorite ways to find support/closed cords? HELP :D There is no point having a 2-4 octave range if you cannot support it. Breathing is what is holding me back... since I cannot hold back the breath :rolleyes:

- JayMC

one thing that's helped me is imagining sucking in the breathe as you sing. of course your not literally, it's more a sensation. then as i'm singing i gradually add tension to my stomach to try to find the right balance. of course i may be wrong on that as i'm a beginner still working at support, but those are things that i have read and have helped.

another exercise i have come across numerous times on this forum is taking a deep breath then making a ssss sound for as long as you can without taking another breath. also try making the sound at varying levels of loudness.

sustained SSSS to get the sensation of what it feels like to have glottal compression with ribs expanded and having least amount of air passing through the cord.

I recommend you find a good teacher because it will take you years to piece together things that can be solved in a week or two of lessons.

when your doing the s exercise, how much compression should you do? is it just enough to make the sss's, or do you want to feel a lot of compression in your core. cause when i do just enough to do the sss's, i don't feel much going on tension wise there, but i was under the impression singing involves a lot of support and you want to feel a lot of tension there (of course not too much).