My first time posting here... help finding my mix? :(

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hey everyone!

I have been singing for around 10 years now, but I used to put a LOT of pressure onto my voice when singing high notes so letting go of that straining habit and developing a mix still is super hard for me. I hope some of you may have tips for me or can tell me some exercises I could do to sound less nasal/more powerful for the high notes...

These covers are in Japanese. I hope you will listen to them anyway... I don't have any recent English covers at hand I fear :(

("zutto kitto", originally by Hirano Aya)

("scenario writer", originally by baikap. I think here you can hear my problem with the changing tone quality quite well.)

Thank you all in advance!

~ Sai

Hello Sai,

I am new here but can share a couple of things that will make this easier.

1. Our own ears are perhaps the worst tool we have to give us real time feedback on how we are singing. The sound is transferring past bone, soft tissue, atmosphere and THEN back through soft tissue and bone to get to our brains for analysis.

FORGET what your ears are telling you and focus entirely on sensation. Which is to say that through your low notes, and highest, you should feel almost zero sensation in the throat, face, neck, mouth, tongue etc. A buzz around the lips/nose is what you are looking for sensation wise. A complete and utter lack of sensation everywhere else is what you want. If you start to feel a squeeze or tightening anywhere in the scale - stop. That's the wrong direction 99 times out of 100.