Where's all the Estill?!

Rate this topic

mpocock

Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum - my name's Matt and I'm a singing teacher in the UK. From a quick scan of a few posts around on the site I'm seeing a nice array of methodologies that I admire, and would love to know more about - SLS, CVT, etc.

But where's the Estill stuff? I wonder whether since this site is mostly US-based (?) that Estill's not so big over there. I've found it super-helpful in breaking down what is happening in students' voices and making swift, precise interventions in things like tongue tension and phonation issues.

Has anyone been looking into it and found it useful, or have any major disagreements with it? Looking to start off a nice debate about methodologies :)

• Replies 117
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think the fact that Estill requires you to attend their courses to learn the method rather than being able to learn from books/DVDs etc means that less people have been exposed to it. I've heard some very good things from singers I know who are heavily invested in the method, but for me personally it's a school of vocalistion that I know very little about.

Rob Lunte (the founder of this board) has actually studied under an Estill teacher for some time iirc. He also incorporates some of the vocal modes (Belt, Twang, ...) in the Estillian way within his own program at TVS.

There are a few Estill guys around here I think, but in the general discussion the CVT terms (Overdrive, Edge, ...), the classical terms (head, chest, ...) and the way TVS explains the fold functions (TA and CT activation) are more common.

The CVT terms are especially popular I think, because they offer a great way to describe a singing setup "from outside" based on the acoustics, which on an internet forum is often the only way of judging sounds.