my take on sls mastering mix

Rate this topic

VideoHere

through a friend, i got a hold of mastering mix and went through it.

all i have to say is why anyone would think this program couldn't build you one hell of a powerful voice is beyond me.

often, i've heard folks say mastering mix and singing success is more for light singing goals.....i say, no way. this is right up there with all the other top d.i.y. programs....tvs, ktva, cvt, and the rest

let the argument begin!!!!!...lol!!!!

• Replies 128
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It seems that most people get confused because of the "Speech Level" thing. They also may be Skipping through things instead of following the program.

The exercises are mostly the same as other programs, people just don't know to give it a little more effort.

I also had that problem with it. Until recently I was not getting enough cord closure for any real progress to take place. Even though that program seems to be mostly about cord closure and "Crying" for the "mix" to take place it never happened for me, at least not through that program.

Maybe it was the way that they presented the exercises that caused confusion.

i believe a fundamental mistake brett manning made (although well intentioned) was featuring himself and his wife on a lot of the examples.

brett admitted on a couple of the cd's that he has a light, lyric voice....if he could have used a variety of voice types on those examples he might have been better off.

maybe if he featured some heavier weighted voices.....or a nice "mix," no pun intended, of different voice types. but his explanations about each exercise were pretty good.

You may be on to something there, Bob.

I can only speak for myself but I do have a tenency for trying to copy someones sound in the exercises or even when learning a song. If he is using a very light sound I would try to copy that.