Any suggestions on how to train to lift the soft palate?

Rate this topic

miss pk

Hi: For some reason, I have a lot of difficulty doing this consistently. there are times when i feel like i get it right and it really seems to help with getting through breaks, accessing my upper registers and improving my tone (i sound less nasal and brighter). is that even what's supposed to happen when you lift the palate? anyway, i have problems doing it correctly on a consistent basis - and when i do it wrong, it seems to create other problems - tensing my jaw, throat tension and all this other bad stuff. :|

I am somewhat new to singing, so I don't know if this is a common problem, but f anyone has any suggestions on ways i might 1) be able to learn do this consistently/reliably 2) and also explain how i can tell when i'm doing it correctly (what it feels like, how it should sound, etc), i would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

For some reason, I have a lot of difficulty doing this consistently. there are times when i feel like i get it right and it really seems to help with getting through breaks, accessing my upper registers and improving my tone (i sound less nasal and brighter). is that even what's supposed to happen when you lift the palate? anyway, i have problems doing it correctly on a consistent basis - and when i do it wrong, it seems to create other problems - tensing my jaw, throat tension and all this other bad stuff. :|

I am somewhat new to singing, so I don't know if this is a common problem, but f anyone has any suggestions on ways i might 1) be able to learn do this consistently/reliably 2) and also explain how i can tell when i'm doing it correctly (what it feels like, how it should sound, etc), i would greatly appreciate it.