My First Lesson with Robert Lunte I hit an A4!!!

Rate this topic

Lobster510

Hi there, I know that alot of you out there are experienced singers and vocal coaches. I hope you enjoy this review however this post is aimed more at people who are trawling through the forums trying to find tips and who may well be frustrated. Mabye you're self-taught, mabye you have a coach or a vocal program and you're not getting the progress that you've been hoping for.

In any case this post is mostly for you guys!

First off know that I'm not a big fan of telling mushy stories, probably due to my British stiff upper lip up upbringing. That said I might get a little personal so that I can really get my point across.

A few years ago I had a grunge/punk rock band. In 2 years we played something like 120 gigs, being a big Dave Grohl fan I would basically belt with my chest voice up to something like a G#4.

I was only able to get though those gigs thanks to being young and having good breath management.

Later in life I found myself homeless and going through some pretty rough times, singing being the physical activity that it is my voice took a real hit! After a few years of working myself out of that rough patch in low paid jobs I finally got a flat again, sorted out my basic living needs and quit my job to get back to playing music.

I got hold of a popular singing program and spent the winter vocalising and trying to get my voice back into shape and (hopefully) better than before i.e well trained/ being able to bridge etc...

The more and more I worked the more and more frustrating it became! I found myself getting to the point where I couldn't even get out the guitar and play a few songs for friends. I found myself asking the question « why with all this work can't I even sing in chest voice like I used to ».

I posted a question on this forum and the answer was simple. « Get a good teacher ».