Hello from Israel - New to the forum (and to singing)

Rate this topic

JohnnyL

Hi all,

My name is Johnny, I'm a 34 year old guitar player and started vocal training after I felt that being strictly a guitar player limits me as a musician (working musician but still...).

I was surprised to discover that I can hit noted pretty well when I put my mind to it and that I can actually produce a full voice. After two month of vocal training I'm more or less in the same stage I was when I was studying guitar for two month - I hear vocalists do amazing things while I understand that I'll need to work very hard to get remotely close. The difference is - that while I was learning how to play guitar I was a student without a steady job or a family and could find time to practice for hours. Now, I make time after the kid is asleep (instead of watching TV).

So, beyond the training that I get from a teacher I want to 'live it' a little more. - I'd really appreciate your insights, links to Youtube videos and tips that would help me develop:

1. are there any breathing exercises that one can do while working at an office (without startling the colleagues... yep, I'm basically asking for quite vocal exercises...)

2. when I sing with 'proper' technique my voice is very round and smooth - imagine a beginner opera singer trying to sing a blues-rock song. My regular talking voice is not as smooth, and most of my favorite singers have some or a lot of distortion in their voices. I've looked at some of the many videos trying to explain how to get vocal distortion but I didn't understand the explanations they provided. Anyone can link me to a video that gives a good explanation for beginners? or previous post in the forum? not sure I can do another practice session hearing myself howling like a jackal. My wife and all of the dogs in the neighborhood are getting annoyed...