Route to learning?

Rate this topic

thematrixiam

Hey guys... I'm mainly a self taught musician. I have taught myself drums, piano/keys, guitar, bass, piccollo, and flute. I am currently getting back into flute, and trying to teach myself singing.

What way do you guys think is a good way to go about doing this?

Are there some good beginner books to get?... I know of the ones offered on this site, but those are a bit pricey for me now.

If I were to build a practice routine what would/should it involve?

If there were some articles of dos/donts and needtoknows, where would I find them?

As a side question.... I have noticed that I sometimes get mild irritation of my vocal cords after I have been doing some singing practice. Not singing, singing practice. When I sing in choir at church I don't get this problem. But when I sit down and try to focus on extending my range and connecting bridges I get this sensation. It is not overly painful. More like it feels dry, if that makes sense.

I would invest in the four pillars, then i would get some lessons with rob to get you started out.

It's the cheapest way if you look at it as

Time is money. One year with a good coach equals five on your own. I say so cause ive spent that time learning on my own.

So with the results in hand, training on your own is not worth it...

Other great coaches on this board is daniel formica or felipe carvalho.

I have a friend of mine whose a professional opera singer, whom I can practice with. As well as people from my church....

that being said, having already stated that I will not be buying the materials on this site right now because they are too expensive for my current budget, does any one else have the answers to my questions?

(no offense intended Jens, but if someone says they have little money, they probably have little money)