Drops of Jupiter

Rate this topic

https://app.box.com/s/64ijln4ebst74iaf566j

Tried this earlier, the ad libs during the last minute or so were challenging. Parts of it sound clippy for some reason even though I ran a compressor over the vocal track, but I couldn't figure out how to improve it. Any and all feedback welcome.

Your mix reminded me of the one I did for myself on "I Don't Believe in Love." I bit wooly and indistinct. Your singing was good and you've got more meat in the voice than the original singer, which I think is cool. But the vocals sounded like they were clipping.

Others have wisely critiqued my on me post-recording editing. And I am still learning. So, what I am saying is that I liked your singing and from what I could hear, you have great articulation.

Thank you Ron! I remember during this session I was reading the lyrics, trying to get a sense of the message, and then I started messing around with this different texture to my voice, and then I couldn't stop. But it felt really cool, really invigorating. I was really trying to stay away from airy vocals, and I guess my feelings for the song as a listener came out through my delivery as more compressed and pressurized. I'd like to do more stuff like this. A lot of the phrases were longer than what I've normally encountered, so it felt awesome being able to complete them and work on keeping my breath under control.

But-- I think I really messed this project up because I forgot to save it...though the clipping probably couldn't have been saved in the long run because I must have recorded the vocals with the input levels set too high. I don't know if I want to record it again or not. Gotta be more careful in the future and save everything!!

I cant give feedback about those clippy or mixing problem because i really dont have any idea how to do those things xD