What do you need to look for in a vocal coach?

Rate this topic

jordan2377

I live in England and I am interested in learning 'classical voice' techniques. I have only found two tutors within travelling distance for me and I am confused who to choose from.

One seems to have better qualifications and has a BA Degree in Classical Music. Whereas the other seems to have many Diploma certificates, and is also older and more experienced that the other tutor. Both don't seem to have any feedback either.

Say like if I was to select at random one of these as my vocal tutor how would I know if I am learning well, or they are good at what they are teaching? As a complete novice, this is something I need to know. Thanks.

The degrees and diplomas don't matter nearly as much as:

1. Can they sing in a way that you like, and fairly reliably?

Doesn't have to be the same style as you, but simply, do you admire their voice and singing ability a lot? And can they demonstrate with their own voice what they are teaching you in any vocal lesson?

2. Can they teach in a way that you like?

This has nothing to do with WHAT they are teaching you (you won't be able to figure that out instantly unfortunately) but rather, HOW they are teaching you - how well do you understand their explanations? Is it too vague for you, or too complex for you, or just right? Do the exercises they suggest to you seem to improve your voice after some consistent practice?

3. Do they have other successful students that they exclusively trained who started at your skill level or lower?

Doesn't have to be pros, just good singers. Again, a bit hard to find out if they don't have a full fledged website, but if at all possible, see if you can do this kind of research, even if it means just asking them about it over the phone.