How to Develope Style?

Rate this topic

Joki42

Hi, I've been singing for many years and have tried many styles without trying to mimic another artist, yet my voice never sounds "right". I can't put my finger on what it is. I practice exercises and techniques regularly. I don't have a problem with hitting notes clearly. I give plenty of emphasis and my natural range is C3 - F5. Yet, my voice just seems to be missing something.

Hi,

Part of your problem could be that you HAVEN'T been mimicking other artists. Building style is about learning the inflections, intensity and good habits that your favourite singers have. How bright/dark their vowel shades are, how heavy or light their intensity is in the phrases, how they roll in the vibrato (toward the end of each note or near the start) etc.

You are the sum of your influences and how well you bring those forward.

Right on!

Building your own style is hard work. You first have to figure out what you like. Then you have to develop good listening and mimicking skills.

Start with one of your favorite singers, learn one of their songs that you like, and try to copy the exact phrases, licks, inflections, vocal weight, tone, etc., as closely as you can. You're not going to be able to duplicate the tone exactly but you can come close. Then take another song from another singer you like and do the same thing. And so on. You will slowly start to develop your own style as all these elements come together in your voice.

That's a great question I've currently started asking myself. Can't figure out what I want to do with my own voice - now that I know that I can "have one".