Help with style and technique - 17 female

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hey! I'm a newbie here and have absolutely no idea what my voice "really" sounds like. I've never had had proper vocal lessons, though I have been in choirs and occasionally managed to coerce my music teachers into one-on-one tutoring. I know I'm decent, but what worries me is that I've never heard anyone with a similar voice (which might mean that I'm actually not that good?) and I can't get a handle on my style. I tend towards jazz/blues, but maybe I'm forcing my voice into a style without proper technique? Or maybe I'm using vocal manipulation to cover up or compensate for a not-so-good voice?

I've attatched a couple of short clips of me singing in slightly different styles and if you could steer me in the right direction (both style and technique wise) or give a general opinion of my voice that would be wonderful!

Dark Doo Wop (MSMR): http://vocaroo.com/i/s1chapjzdhxQ

Cold Shoulder (Adele): http://vocaroo.com/i/s1FzIxaXwu1d

I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues (Sarah Vaughan): http://vocaroo.com/i/s0XWYbGHxIil

With My Hands (Kimbra): http://vocaroo.com/i/s1vefhUWT61G

Two Way Street (Kimbra): http://vocaroo.com/i/s15Qh7sLY0NK

First, most importantly, you have a great voice! More on that in a moment.

Aside, let me say that it's pretty crappy that someone spammed your post with stuff about pet insurance. That's lame.

Now, back to your voice.

I'm not familiar with any of the songs, so I don't really know their genres. I wouldn't be able to guide you at this point on your style because the style of the songs kind of sound the same to me. It's probably because you are incorporating your style into the songs.