The Nearness of You (Cover Sarah Vaughan/Norah Jones etc)-Sokhna-Dior

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi there,

I'm very new to all this. I've sang for years just because it makes me happy, but i recently thought i'd try to actually SING a song with deliberate intention rather than just in passing. I've never had any lessons, and i'm not really sure how to start doing this. I listen to a lot of music, but would definitely say that some of my influences are Sarah Vaughan, Nina Simone, Billie Holiday, Ray Charles, Bessie Smith and Norah Jones.

This was done sort of as a dare. I only got one take (my piano man was eager to get out of that suit) and was obviously nervous at the idea of other people hearing me sing, so i already know that with confidence, things will flow better, but i was just hoping for some non-family/friends feedback to help me move forward.

Thanks so much for your time

Beautiful voice! Smooth and easy. Definitely a good song choice for you. I think technically, you're doing a lot of great things. You do many things so naturally. I do think that some of your stylizing (which you do a great job of) gets in the way of your voice being free. It's like your voice is trying to free itself and relax, but the music is getting in the way. Sorry, I can't think of a better way to describe it right now.

I think a vocal coach rather than a voice teacher would probably be a better fit for you right now, particularly if you stick with songs in this range and genre.

Definitely go get some coaching. You have great potential! :)

The Aspiring Singer
Resources and inspiration for aspiring singers - from beginners to professionals
www.theaspiringsinger.com
Twitter: @theaspiringsing

Thank you so much for the feedback!