Help with songs that don't suit my voice

Rate this topic

washy21

Hi All

Could I ask some opinions please: is it worth continuing with a song that you feel does not suit your voice? In my case the song is Sting's Fields of Gold.

The best (male) renditions I hear of this song - including Sting's, - all seem to have a fair bit of breath in the vocal delivery and I assume that this kind of vocal delivery portrays a sense of intimacy that is congruent with the songs meaning. I am a novice singer, currently studying the four pillars of singing, but whilst I feel as though I am making progress in other songs this particular song is really frustrating me because my voice is far more focused in tone and I can't seem to get sufficent control to put it across.

As I understand it a breathy voice is generally frowned upon, or have I got this wrong?

Here is a cover that I discovered which illustrates what I mean.

Hope this makes sense.

Breathiness and texture are different things. Adding a "husky" quality to your voice is just a matter of getting the technique right. Nobody's vocal cords like (or work any better) with excess air. It's all a matter of finding the balance that comes with technique that comes with training that comes with time.

If I'm not totally mistaken, sting's approach is like a very lightly adducted but connected mix. So "mix pulled down?" I dunno, it doesn't really have any "cry" to it..

If you want to work on a song that doesn't suit your voice you'll have to break it down into simpler tasks and spend months even years working up to the full thing. Most programs don't explain how to do this so you'll just have to take lessons with a coach

I sing some songs that don't match my voice. Because I want to. Sometimes, I get applause. Other times, not so much.