"Valentine's Day" Cover [Linkin Park] - Please review

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hey guys, 

this is my first time ever sharing my singing with someone. 

In this case one of my favourite songs at the moment: Valentine's Day by Linkin Park

Constructive criticism is very welcome, I want to get better ;)

You are flat in some places, especially the high parts. Consistently so, which makes think you are not hearing the music loud enough to you when you sing. That is, you are not off pitch because if an inability but because you are hearing the music wrong, probably a little too much bass in the mix.

And you picked a tough singer to cover. Chester is known for that rattle on high notes and it is difficult to not compare.

Hello ronws, thanks for your feedback. :-)

I know that it is VERY hard to cover songs from Linkin Park, but they are my favourite band and I enjoy singing their stuff. I must say that Chester was always a role model for me, especially since I saw him live in concert a few weeks ago. I think many of LP'S texts are very inspiring and helpful (for me). 

Anyways, I thought that Valentine's Day is one of their easier songs to cover. I'm having much more trouble with songs like Numb, Breaking the Habit etc. as they go much higher. 

But yeah apart from that I am not satisfied with how I sing the "On a Valentine's Daaaaaa....aaaaay"-part at the end. I sang this song quite a few times and sometimes I think I am much better than on my uploaded version. 

Would you (and the other forum members) say I can sing in general? I think my own voice sounds weird and don't really like it. 

BTW: Sorry for my bad english, I am from Germany ^^

You're in danger of falling a bit into the trap that can kill a singer before they can blossom. The question, "Can I sing?" is misleading and useless. You already are singing. Of course you can. If singing makes you happy you should sing regardless of audience.