Classical Style to Rock?

Rate this topic

SlashRock05

Uhm, hey there! It's been a long time since I opened my acc. in this website, for I'm enjoying my current singing career. So, I'm in a choir right now and I sing baritone or high bass/low tenor. My range for now is G2-G4. I can execute a E2 in a volume of a singer's chest voice.
Btw, I've been singing opera lately, (for about 6 months) and I am classified as a baritenor by my instructor. My range in opera was from a brief A2-A#4, 2 octaves and a semitone. Hahaha And I've been wondering if Rock singing could help me extend my voice up to the extent of my cords. I watched videos of connecting the chest to head voice and bringing power towards the passagio. If I could be, somehow, successful in bridging my chest and head in a type of rock way, could I use that in singing classically? Specifically, Bel Canto. That's all my questions now. Hahaha Thanks for the replies in advance. ^_^

If I could be, somehow, successful in bridging my chest and head in a type of rock way, could I use that in singing classically? Specifically, Bel Canto. That's all my questions now. Hahaha Thanks for the replies in advance. ^_^

Hi,

I think it's important that you be aware of the specificity principle derived from exercise physiology. Which means, if you want to sing classical, practice that. If you want to sing rock, practice that.   :)

If I could be, somehow, successful in bridging my chest and head in a type of rock way, could I use that in singing classically? Specifically, Bel Canto. 

Learning how to get through the passagio or transition from M1 to M2 is somewhat style independent.  If you can do it in one style, correctly, you'll be able to use that coordination in the other style.  However, there are some sound ideals that are different for each style.