Issues with timing

Rate this topic

KHP

Hi,

As I mentioned in another thread, I am a complete beginner to singing and had my first lessons last week. In my recent lesson I've been having issues with timing. I remember when I used to have piano lessons (I only got to grade 1), I had the same issue, especially when playing with a metronome.

Basically when my singing teacher plays the piano and I try to sing a piece, I find it difficult to follow her. Does anyone have any basic tips for improving my timing?

Thanks!

I had a friend who had trouble dancing or clapping his hands in time with the music. He had no clue that the bass drum and snare was what keeps the timing for the band.

I also have trouble when just using a metronome the click, click ,click is boring and sometimes the Rhythm needed is between the clicks. For normal radio tunes I imagine the drum beat while I am singing and playing. If you are using a backing track follow the drum beat.

For those tunes that has drumming like a machine gun(I can't handle machine gun drumming), I have no clue unless the snare is steady.

It can be very helpful to subdivide beats and learn to make sounds on each subvision.

Most popular music is in 4/4 time signature (1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4 and so on).

There are great, time tested ways of getting a feel for the subivision.

For eight notes (2 notes per): 1 and  2 and 3 and 4 and  

For sixteenth notes (4 notes per metronome click): 1 ee and a 2 ee and a 3 ee and a 4 ee and a

For triplets (3 notes per metronome click): 1 and a 2 and a 3 and a 4 and a

There are also varying time signatures. The second most common is 3/4. Which is 1,2,3 ,1,2,3, and so on.

One of the things that helped me immensely with timing was drumming. Even keeping the beat with one hand while inserting a sound into a spacing with another hand (or voice) can help a lot to internalize rhythm. Poly-rhythms helped a whole lot.