Rate this topic

anth

Been singing for a year with regular vocal lessons during that time. For a month or more, I've had some irritation felt in the throat. It happened after I started practicing everyday with kerri ho's singing programme which involves alot of pushing my range in mixed voice (belt-ish) which I think I was doing with incorrect technique (using the throat and tensing up to get the higher notes out).I think I was trying to pull chest up and not letting myself go into head voice so that I could match her weight on the top notes. I would use this programme to warm up (probably not a great idea) and then after that sing songs that were quite high for me. I've also been on minomycine (for skin) for a few months but went off it 3 weeks ago. Other than that, I can't think of anything else I've done to upset my throat. Now to describe the symptoms:

- throat irritation/soreness/tightness

- hard to swallow (its almost like theres extra saliva or my throat is blocked and saliva is harder to swallow). ithe swallowing is quite noisy

- there is some irritation in the nasal cavity

My throat is fine during the day unless i start to sing for a bit. It is also quite sore in the morning (I've tried not eating 2 hrs before bed but that doesn't seem to help dramatically). I thought to have some time off and do breathing exercises but even they aggravate my throat. What should I do? I really want to practice vocalizing because I'm noticing some improvement in vocal tone but I don't want to mess up my voice.. I don't sing professionally so I can take time off. The most I've had is 2-3 days.

Things pop in my head. However, I really dont say much anymore without hearing a sample.

So please post up something, it can even be just a simple cell phone recording as long as there isnt much clipping.