Rate this topic

Devin Burns

So yeah I'm pretty new at this whole singing thing.  Only been trying to sing seriously for about a year or so.  I just got into the Four Pillars program and i just can't express how badly I want my head voice to sound like my chest voice.  Robert's voice is obviously amazing, and that's what I'm aiming for.  I just had some questions about a couple clips on youtube.  I don't know if these singers are pulling chest or singing in a strong head voice.

First clip is Tyler Carter singing Fame Over Demise by Woe is Me: At 0:56 ("I'll build my way out of your demise") he sings from an F4 up to a Bb4.  Is he just able to belt this out in chest or is he singing that Bb in head?

Next is Brendon Urie singing This Is Gospel: at 0:38 ("If you love me let me go") he holds that A4 (seemingly pretty easily).  Is this head voice?

I appreciate any responses.  Like I said, I'm new and just looking to learn.  Would take lessons if I could afford them.  And also if these guys aren't singing in head voice, is it possible to sound practically identical when singing the same phrases in head voice?  Thanks guys! Best of wishes to everyone!

They are singing in a strong coordinated head voice. however with that being said, they are pulling up slightly as you can hear they go a little flat but they are performing so it is gonna happen.  By practicing technique more and more the head voice will take over more and you will have less of that pulling sound. 

Yeah Dan pretty much said it. You can hear in the first clip right before the phrase you asked about the singer goes into a falsetto and you can hear a distinct difference. The falsetto always has that bell like quality.