Getting started performing

Rate this topic

hollywood15

I wasn't sure where to post this, so I apologize if it's in the wrong place!

I'm a fairly new singer. I've been working on making my voice as good as I can for a couple of months, and I feel like the next step toward making this into a career is playing live, and I think I'm ready to make that jump.  So this is a 2-part question.

1) What kind of gig do you guys recommend as the "first" live show, especially for someone who doesn't really write their own yet?

2) What are some other ways you recommend of getting into singing for a career?  

I've read about singing demos for songwriters, for example.

I appreciate your help, and thank you in advance!

A lot of people seem to be getting famous off of having singing channels on YouTube.

I'd check craigslist for singing gigs. I often see those. Even bands looking for lead singers a lot of times.

Just another tip, never stop practicing. I see a lot of singing "talent shows" on tv with this whole mindset where it's like either you make it now or don't make it at all. That's not how it is. Your voice will continue to improve if you keep practicing. If you don't get something now, 6 months down the line, the same person who rejected you might want you.

I guess it depends on what area you are in and what type of songs you are singing. Do you play an instrument also?

If you are going to be playing live at some kind of show "bar room" "coffee House" "Wedding singer" "graduation Parties"

You need to have at least 40 songs ready to go.

You need some type of music to sing to, even if it is prerecorded. You will need to provide that music and a way for it to be heard.

If you do not play an instrument you can advertise as a singer looking for a band. You should have an idea of what type of songs you want to sing.