Feedback please - Kentucky Rain by Elvis

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi Guys, hope I've followed all the rules so far, otherwise let me know. 

I have been playing guitar for about 20 years but singing for about 4 or 5. I would really like to get your honest feedback on my voice. I feel this represents the best of my abilities at this point. I am just in the process of looking for a new coach, as I moved towns a year ago so lost my great coach who brought me this far. Meanwhile I just discovered some online resources for warmup exercises and techniques and have re-commited to daily practice.

Thanks in advance.

Hi Mark, Welcome to the forum.

Sounds pretty good :). There is lots of potential there. No real problems with pitch. The only thing I noticed would have to do with support. Getting the sound to be a little more solid. The only reason that I am bringing this up is because you sound pretty good now but with a little effort you could sound awesome. Sometimes there is only a fine line between the two.

For Kentucky Rain GO AHEAD and try to Match Elvis's sound a little....The reason I say that is that you have a similar voice to his anyway and that lower larynx/dampened larynx sound that gives Elvis power helps to bring about the support. Just don't over do the mimicking, that can start to sound pretentious.

"You need a strong foundation to reach the heights."

Good stuff, Mark. "Kentucky Rain" is one of my favorite Elvis songs precisely because it has some low end.

You sang better on "Homeward Bound" because of your "placement," where you were feeling the notes. If you did that with "Kentucky Rain" it would sound much more solid, even the low parts.

You do both songs well.

Thanks to you both for the feedback. I really appreciate it. Youre right I do have a tendency to try to sound like the singer I'm covering. My teacher used to try to break that habit all the time.