Will Belting Destroy My Voice?

Rate this topic

My vocal instructor insists that belting will destroy your voice. He defines belting as singing above a high C (I think it was...) in the chest register. He has had pretty extensive training, but the internet seems to have a few varying opinions. I just started learning, and would appreciate any information I could get. If you could give examples of specific singers, that would be super helpful.

• Administrator

Hello Imstilllearning...

Your instructor is wrong and it sounds to me like some kind of unvalidated comment that some voice coaches will make. Making statements as the "authority", when they really don't know what they are talking about. Having said that, belting certainly could harm your voice, if you don't do it properly. If you don't understand the acoustics of singing primarily, belting turns into just hollering and that is harmful to your voice. The point is, you need to train to learn how to do ti properly. My training program, "The Four Pillars of Singing" and I suppose some others to some extent, offer belting training content that you can practice and study to insure you are doing it properly. 

However, before you start serious belt training you have to have a foundation built that consists of several fundamental strengths and coordinations; frequency, respiration, a good embouchure, and for sure and understanding of vowels and the acoustics of singing.

Also, please upload a picture to your profile as the welcome letter and video you received when you registered very clearly asked, thank you... hope my advise was helpful for you!