Why cant I do this exercise anymore?

Rate this topic

aaron0326

Before gigging, I like to warm up with two different types of exercises that I get from Eric Arceneaux's youtube videos and from Ron Anderson's Voixtek Lite App.  I have been using these exercises for a few years now but suddenly, I am having trouble articulating certain sounds in them.

1) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSOn-b3V6rQ

So here is a "La-ga" exercise where the jaw is open, throat relaxed, and all articulation is supposed to come from the tongue.  I cannot seem to articulate the "G" sound with the back of my throat anymore.  I find that my best vocal performances follow warmups where I get a pronounced and powerful "ga" but its like I don't even have access to that part of my tongue and throat. 

2) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lUQ8NFiZ4Uk

In this one, the point is to make a "ng" sound with the air coming through the nose.  I used to be able to do this with the sound coming from deeper in my throat but now I can't articulate the "ng" much less get the air to come through my nose.  Its like the sound cant be sustained in the front of my throat if that makes sense.  It is really airy.

Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated!   

Sit down on a chair, let your head hang backwards and drop your jaw, as if you fell asleep while sitting, let the jaw hang open and rotate a bit backwards.

Keeping the jaw in this position, place the tip of your tongue behind the low front teeth, and breath ONLY through your nose, making sure you don´t let your mouth close, keep the jaw loose and the mouth as open as you can. Experiment until you find a way to breath through the nose and keep everything relaxed, notice what the back of the tongue does when you are producing this.

Then add sound to this nasal flow, also relaxed. Think of singing inside your nose, keep everything relaxed, the movement should be the same as it was when you where just breathing, sing on that flow of air.