Rate this topic

soundtravels

Why did your teacher not define the word when he or she gave you the assignment? I am totally confused by the action.

What if I had a teacher that told me to change a light bulb without explaining how?

:huh:

How do you go about "solfeging a song". My music teacher suggested I solfege Home by Phillip Phillips in the key of C. I know it starts off on a high C..making it do? I need help because I am fairly new to this. Please help.

This is a fairly complicated task if you are not already accustomed to reading music/understanding how solfege translates to the intervals of a song in relation to it's key signature.  What you will need to do is find sheet music for the vocal melody of "Home" and assign your solfege to each pitch/interval given in the song.  For example, any "C" located in the melody will be sung as "Do", any "D" in the melody will be sung as "Re", any "E" in the melody will be sung as "Mi."  This will repeat like this for the entire song so:

Solfege in C major

C = Do 

D = Re

E = Mi

F = Fa

G = So

A = La

B = Ti

C = Do (same as the first C)

So, going by the melody written here: http://www.musicnotes.com/sheetmusic/mtd.asp?ppn=MN0104414

The notes in the melody of the first verse are: C, C, C, C, A, G, G  (Hoooold oooonn, to me as we go.)  However, since we are replacing it with solfege you would instead replace these words with their relative solfege based on the lyric each pitch occurs on.  So E.G. you'd sing it like this: "Do dooooooooooo, do do la so so" 

I hope this helps you a bit and is not completely useless, good luck. :)

• Administrator

How do you go about "solfeging a song". My music teacher suggested I solfege Home by Phillip Phillips in the key of C. I know it starts off on a high C..making it do? I need help because I am fairly new to this. Please help.