What is the best vocal training technique for a new singer?

Rate this topic

Sheepi

I have 1-2 years singing experience at a theatre school for dramatic arts. I'm looking to become technically proficient at it, and then eventually move into musical theatre and also stage performance singing when I feel like I'm competent enough.

My range is very small (second soprano area) and my voice shakes with most notes, so it's not strong.

To become a strong singer (not caring about what style it is) would opera or classical training be best? (I'm still new to singing so not really sure what all the genres are and if there's a difference between the two.)

I'm leaning towards classical training because I trained in ballet and it's always made me stronger when I moved into jazz or modern, and classical piano has made me stronger in other piano genres.

If there's something else you suggest though, let me know.

Thanks for reading and responding if you have any ideas.

• Administrator

Hello...

Welcome...

I recommend that you read the posts on the "Discuss Vocal Training Programs" forum.

But I will tell you this... do NOT presume that Classical vocal training is the "end all, final authority" on voice training and technique... IF... you want to sing conteporary music. If you are not interested in singing Classical art songs and aria, then do NOT train Classical voice technique.

Check out more modern and relevant and innovative vocal training programs such as "The Four Pillars of Singing", or some of the programs found at our TMV World Teacher Workouts store

Moderators... if this becomes a discussion about different programs, please move to "Discuss Vocal Training Programs" forum

Thanks... 

I'm inclined to think KISS is probably most efficient for a pure beginner (Keep it simple, stupid). Breath control, pitch, moving away from strain. Find a free chest voice and hold onto that, find a free head voice, hold onto that.